monthly health topic

gluten-free


Shopping for gluten-free foods doesn’t mean you are limited to the gluten-free section. With our help, you can find these gluten-free foods throughout our store!

Shopping for gluten-free foods doesn’t mean you are limited to the gluten-free section.

shopping beyond the gluten-free aisle

Shopping for gluten-free foods doesn’t mean you are limited to the gluten-free section. Naturally gluten-free foods can be found in all major food groups, including: fruits, vegetables, high-protein foods, grains and dairy.

However, with all foods, it’s very important to read the labels. A recent study revealed that 99% of products tested that were labeled “gluten-free”, actually met the requirement. Look for the “Certified Gluten-Free” label on packages. You can trust items with that label. And use our tips to help you find gluten-free food, and to maintain a healthy diet that may be altered when eating gluten-free.

Fruits and vegetables

You can never go wrong with fresh produce.
Fill your cart with fresh and colorful fruits and vegetables, which are naturally gluten-free. Fruits and vegetables provide vitamins and minerals, which help you stay healthy.

Canned or frozen fruits and vegetables are also packed with nutrients.
These items are usually gluten-free and can have just as much fiber, vitamin A and vitamin C as fresh produce. But make sure you read the labels! Some flavorings or sauces in canned or frozen produce may contain added gluten.

Grains

Not all grains contain gluten.
Rice, quinoa and amaranth are great gluten-free options that will add some extra fiber to your diet.

There are lots of gluten-free grain products on our shelves. These items can range from gluten-free breads and pastas, to gluten-free cookies and pastries. Make sure to choose gluten-free products with at least two grams of fiber per serving to help keep you full in-between meals.

Protein foods

Try meat, poultry or fish…but watch the seasonings!
Fresh beef, pork, chicken, turkey and fish are all naturally gluten-free, and are great sources of protein. However, certain meats may be injected or marinated with solutions that may contain gluten. Combining herbs and spices at home is a great way to season your meats, and be sure it’s gluten-free. Make sure to read the label to check for gluten in breaded meats, such as chicken or fish. For a homemade, gluten-free alternative, try breading chicken with gluten-free rice cereal or toasted nuts for an added crunch!

Work egg into dishes for a protein boost.
Fresh eggs, still in the shell, do not contain gluten. So you can enjoy an omelet or egg salad. Even include eggs in dishes like a casserole or stir-fry to boost your protein.

Add fiber to your diet with beans or legumes.
Kidney beans, black beans, chickpeas and lentils are naturally gluten-free, and are a great source of protein, and even fiber! Since many fiber-filled, whole-grain products contain gluten, it’s important to include other sources of fiber in your diet. Try adding beans or lentils to your soup, salad or stir-fry.

Dairy

Probiotics found in dairy products, help maintain important bacteria.
Milk, butter, plain yogurt and real cheese are all naturally gluten-free. Probiotics found in dairy products, such as yogurt, are important in maintaining the healthy bacteria in your gut that may be altered by a gluten-free diet. However, be sure to read the label or call the company if you aren’t sure if a product is gluten-free. Processed cheese, flavored milks, dairy-based dips, and yogurt products may have added ingredients.

Try going dairy-free, temporarily.
A diagnosis of celiac disease or gluten intolerance is often accompanied by an intolerance to the protein found in dairy products. Try eliminating dairy from your diet, temporarily, and working it back in after about six months. Always talk to your doctor about your symptoms before making changes to your diet.